This is the last day of my July blog blast and it has been a ride. So many things have happened in the last 30 days. Lots of travel was done. Got to have first time experiences. Became the tannest I’ve ever been since moving to the mainland in 2008. Made new friends. Laughed, loved and cried. Wanted to give up but didn’t. Found reasons to fight. Started a new adventure. Wrote more than I ever did in forever. Branched out of my comfort zone many times. Finished my first writers’ camp.

The journey has been tough and it was only thirty days. There were so many times that I wanted to give up. I kept pushing through when all I wanted to do was say, I think 20 blogs in a 30 day span is enough. Or, they won’t know if I missed one day, right? All the times I wanted to find excuses to break my commitment I thought of something…

You ever look into a champion’s eyes to wonder what makes them so great?  Think about it.

Michael Jordan is one of the greatest basketball players ever, if not the greatest. Six championships. Over 32k points. Six time MVP. A member of the dream team. Five time MVP. Rookie of the Year. These are just to name a few.

Muhammad Ali was darn good at his sport too. Olympic gold medalist. 37 knock outs. 56 wins with 18 coming as unanimous decisions. Five losses. And of the 61 fights he made five fighters retire. He floated like a butterfly and stung like a bee.

What makes these men great? Or the men that came after them? The likes of Kobe and LeBron. Tyson and Mayweather.

The answer: they found a way to survive.

Michael Jordan was a sophomore in high school trying out for the Varsity team. He didn’t make the team. He went home and cried. Then? He wiped off the defeat and pushed himself to greatness.

My favorite quote from him is:

I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.

He was never afraid to try. Never afraid of failing. He used the failures as jumping stones to get to where he wanted to be. What makes a champion great? Their need to win. Their need to play hard. Their need to keep going when all else is telling them you bloody suck. They realize that the only time you fail is when you stop fighting, stop trying, stop picking yourself up. And so they survive.

There are so many clichés that I can give you to “motivate” you to survive:

  • It doesn’t matter how many times you fall, it matters how many times you pick yourself up.
  • The moment you want to quit is usually the moment when a miracle happens.
  • Clear your mind of Can’t
  • Everything is going to be alright. Maybe not today. But, eventually.
  • Chin up. Don’t let it get to you.

But, honestly, the only thing I have for you is: 2016 NBA Finals.

The Cavs were pitted to lose. Down 3-1. No other team had come back from that deficit. They were playing a Golden State team that broke Michael Jordan’s Bulls regular season record. The odds were stacked against LeBron and Company. But, they never gave up. It wasn’t all about LBJ, although he was a beast. It wasn’t Kyrie, even if he hit the shot that sealed the deal. It wasn’t Love, although he found his footing in Game 4. It was the will to survive.

These last 30 days of writing was my will to survive. To get past the night. To walk into the morning. To find my silver lining, to smile and to laugh. To find a way to love myself and to grow in my relationship with my husband. These last 30 days I had to find a way to champion my way out. And I did.

Friend, whatever you may be facing: a breakup, dysfunctional family, no family, no job, job sucks, job doesn’t pay, you’re sick, depressed, lonely, no friends, bad friends, marriage is rocky, kids drive you crazy, you want kids, loss of a loved one, loss of a pet – you will survive. I know everyone tells you this. But, I’ve walked through that entire list. And by God’s grace I am still alive. I have survived. I. Am. A. Champion. And so are you. I believe in you. It’s about time you believe in yourself.

Happy Friday cosmos. xoxo

