An ounce of practice is worth more than tons of preaching.

The saying “practice what you preach” is pretty good advice. Those words hold you to your actions, your convictions, your morals. Mostly at least. “Action speaks louder than words,” will also do the same. Before Gandhi was assassinated he believed that taking action was imperative to change the world. Obviously you need to take action for change, but he believes in actions of humble activism. You are what you do not what you say you do.

This holiday season throw some change in the bucket, walk a little lady across the street, offer a homeless person your never used jacket, provide assistance at a soup kitchen. You want to focus on the good of the holiday season, the real meaning of the season, then act now and allow for some change. Don’t just stand there while someone is suffering – no matter how small it is. A little goes a long way. A hug and a two minute prayer changed my thought process completely and helped me crawl out of the darkness. Imagine what a jacket would do for someone freezing in the rain/snow. Imagine what a hot homemade meal to the struggling family down the street would do. Imagine the impression of a night of family time would do for your family.

Thanks to a friend my husband and I now have no electronics on during dinner. It has become our family time. And let me tell you, it opens up a world of conversation. This simple change – as difficult as it was for me – is allowing my husband and I to reconnect. I’m practicing what I preach, making little changes in the home to bring on bigger changes to the lives I touch. You can do it too. This holiday season, do something small for someone. I promise by making their day, you’ll make yours.

Remember, if you focus on results you will never find change. If you focus on change, you will get results.

